Latest News


LAA Head of Pilot Coaching Scheme, David Cockburn was one of a number of LAA members recognised at the Honourable Company of Air Pilots awards ceremony in London’s Guildhall, an event which is internationally recognised as the ‘Oscars’ of the aviation world. David Cockburn was awarded the title of Master Air Pilot, recognising his wealth of experience gained both as a military pilot and as a civilian instructor (he has in excess of 1,000 hours on the de Havilland Chipmunk alone) as well as more than a decade spent working at the CAA on safety promotions, including the creation of the still highly-popular regional GA safety evenings.


LAA members were also at the forefront of the receipt by GASCO, the General Aviation Safety Council, of the Sword of Honour for their contribution to aviation safety. The award was made to the regional safety officers who voluntarily give their time to present the Safety Evenings, including Nils Jamieson, Jon Cooke, John Steele, Michael Benson, Geoffrey Connolly, Keith Thomas, Caroline Gough-Cooper and Penny Gould.


A further recipient of a Sword of Honour was Stuart McKay, who in the late 1970s was editor of the PFA Popular Flying magazine before concentrating his time on forming the de Havilland Moth Club, an organisation he still heads, 46 years later!

Light Aircraft Association
22nd October 2021

Photography (mostly) Neil Wilson

Copyright © The Light Aircraft Association 2021  -  Disclaimer/Copyright/GDPR Policy

Powered by Camelot Media Ltd